Search Class Notes
Use the options below to narrow your results.
 
List has 502 notes on 26 pages << < 1 2 3 4 5 > >>
Class Notes Colin G. Gallagher 5/31/2018  
Went into the U.S. Peace Corps after Humboldt graduation of 1997. Came back to the U.S.A. in 2000. Worked various local government gigs, picked up a master's degree along the way. Got into crypto and helped design cryptocurrencies and electronic wallets in a manner so as to foster efficient microdonations in the early years of decentralized cryptos (2009 - 2015). Did a software QA gig. Currently working for a crypto-fiat exchange. Enjoying life.

Class Notes Gerald R. Jones 6/5/2018  
Working for ODFW for 14 years as a fish pathologist/fish health specialist.
Class Notes Dora Mitchell 5/2/2018  
Dora Mitchell, Art, 2008, has a debut novel, an illustrated children's mystery titled "The Haunted Serpent," which is being published in hardcover by Sterling Children's Books on June 5, 2018. Kirkus Reviews said "Fans of Dan Poblocki, John Bellairs, and R.L. Stine will all be right at home and smiling at the shivers (and the jokes)." Booklist said, "Mitchell's well-developed kid characters and excellent caricatures (both written and visual) of the evil adult despots make this paranormal read engaging and goosebump-inducing," and School Library Journal called it "a spooky, high-interest adventure for reluctant readers and fans of action-packed tales."
Class Notes James M. Pena 5/9/2018  
Jim Peña, Forest Resource Management, 1980, is currently serving as Regional Forester of the Pacific Northwest Region of the Forest Service. He will be retiring in July with forty years of service. He has had the privilege of serving at all levels of the agency.
Class Notes Jeffrey A. Rich 6/4/2018  
My newest book is now out, Bald Eagles in The Wild. I also speak and will be offering my book signings, speaking about the book, with slide show, with a book signing starting in the fall. http://www.jeffrichphoto.com
Class Notes Ronald L. Anderson 5/1/2018  
Working at the US Naval Observatory working with Earth Orientation and Orbital Scientists. This is a great location for students hoping for Intern Experience or possible career move.
Class Notes Holly R. McLaughlin 4/22/2018  
Holly McLaughlin, Liberal Studies Elementary Education, 2017, teaches fifth grade at Washington Elementary school.
Class Notes Mildred J. Correa-Hernandez 6/6/2017  
Mildred J. Correa, 2017 Art, had been offered and accepted an incredible full-time career opportunity at a non-profit in her hometown, Armory Center for the Arts, Pasadena, Calif. Correa's prior positions during her time at HSU including at the Academic and Career Advising Center, the Library, the Learning Center, and Student Access Gallery guided her to realize that she value working for organizations that positively impact community through design. Correa is happily employed at the Armory where everyday she is spreading awareness about this education and gallery space.
Class Notes Mildred J. Correa-Hernandez 3/28/2017  
Mildred (Milly) J. Correa, 2017 Art, has begun a full-time graphic design job doing what she loves for an amazing non-profit, the Armory Center for the Arts, in Pasadena, Calif. Correa writes, "Thanks to my family, friends, and mentors who all encouraged me to pursue my goals to do what I love as a career. Contributing to my community while being able to do what I love is vital, which led me to take the Graduation Pledge. This is just the first step in my post-graduation life but I really look forward to it."
Class Notes Thomas A. Boyd 2/9/2018  
Huge Travel Shows, starting next weekend, Bay Area, LA area, Review, http://www.travelshows.com. Comes only once a year. You will Love this, Thanks

Travel, LAX worker, City of Los Angeles
Class Notes Meg M. Godlewski 3/6/2018  
Meg Godlewski, Journalism Class of 1987, writes video scripts for an online ground school for an international aviation company. Meg also travels around the country with Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association helping lapsed pilots get back into the cockpit. She is a full-time flight instructor and a columnist for Aviation for Women Magazine and writes stories for AOPA Flight Training.

Away from the airport, Meg is working on Payback is a Bitch and Sometimes it has Puppies, the sequel to The Thin Line Between Guts and Stupidity, a coming of age story based on experiences breaking in to journalism while a student at HSU. Meg plans to attend the MLJ reunion in November.
Class Notes Lawrence E. Liles 3/9/2018  
Dropped out of law school over a conflict with the role of law versus justice, which I learned later was a moral position. Completed a four year union electrical apprenticeship, taught same for four years, then elected twice as Business Manager for IBEW Local 413 in Santa Barbara. Appointed in 1992 as an IBEW International Representative in Washington DC headquarters and worked primarily in their Research Department representing workers interests in many venues. Raised three step children and two of my own and retired early in 2010 to spend time with a late son. Now living in the Virginia Piedmont, east side of the Blue Ridge Mountains, doing genealogy, active in Scouting and the SAR.
Class Notes William G. London 2/14/2018  
Bill (Sharky) London, Wildlife, 1985, recently retired from the Idaho Fish & Game after 32 years. The education, experiences, and guidance that he received at HSU made this fulfilling career possible.
As a Conservation Officer, he patrolled vast wildernesses on horseback, boated rivers, chased poachers, taught kids to camp, hunt & fish, trapped deer, surveyed big game and sage grouse, electroshocked fish, flew game counts, and dealt with lions and bears in town. It was an adventure. In 2004 promoted to District CO and worked from the Owyhee canyonlands to the Sawtooth Wilderness with an amazing group of officers. He recruited at HSU for 13 years to bring the best to Idaho. He is married (Shannon), together we have 5 children.
Class Notes Daniel R. Mandell 4/11/2018  
Daniel Mandell, Professor of History, has been appointed Distinguished Research Fellow at the Kinder Institute on Constitutional Democracy at the University of Missouri for 2018-2019. The Kinder Institute is an interdisciplinary effort of the history and political science departments, and since its creation in 2014 has blossomed into one of the most active intellectual centers in the region. During his year at the Kinder, Prof. Mandell will participate in the Institute's programs and begin a study of the evolving conundrum between individual and collective rights in the United States as highlighted by the history of Native American policies and laws.
Class Notes Brian Miller 2/8/2018  
Brian Miller, Art, 1974, recently retired from Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE) after a successful 40+ year career in the high tech industry. Most recently, he served as director of marketing transformation at HPE, leading a worldwide team across Europe, India, and North and Latin America. He currently provides pro bono marketing and technology advisory services to the Northern California wine industry.
Class Notes Jana L. Rivers-Norton 2/6/2018  
Jana Lynn Rivers-Norton, English, 1991, graduated with a master's in English from HSU in 1991 and earned a doctorate in Clinical Psychology in 2002 from Saybrook University. Since then, she has been teaching at-risk students in Sacramento, New Mexico, and Arizona, and writing and publishing a collection of essays titled "The Demeter-Persephone Myth as Writing Ritual in the Lives of Literary Women" by Cambridge Scholars Publishing (CSP) in Jan. 2017. My next book, "Transcending the Tragedy of Medea in Life, Love and the Literary Arts" was just accepted for publication from CSP for a fall 2019 release.
Class Notes Matthew J. Vallerga 3/6/2018  
I will be retiring from teaching on June 2, 2018 after 20 years in the classroom. I have taught 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders with every combination in between! Not bad for a third and last career. Prior to being an educator, I spent about 10 years working in environmental sciences (air quality control, trace metals analysis, water resources, etc.). My first career out of HSU was about 10 years in seafood marketing and aquaculture. I am looking forward to recreating outdoors and traveling with my wife, Barbara.
Class Notes Melody G. Stone 1/26/2017  
Melody Stone, 2007 Journalism, after three years in public media at Capital Public Radio, just started as the marketing and communication specialist at the University of Nevada, Reno journalism school. Stone is also teaching a design lab.
Class Notes Karlee Jewell 1/24/2018  
Local Americorps Member, Karlee Jewell was recently recognized alongside thirty young people, ages 30 and under, by the North American Association for Environmental Education (NAAEE). The EE 30 Under 30 highlights the work of young professionals of various backgrounds, ethnicities, genders, and communities around the globe who are using education to help protect the environment.
The program was started by a partnership between NAAEE and the US Fish & Wildlife Service (USFWS).

For more information visit:
http://www.naaee.org/our-work/programs/ee-30-under-30
Class Notes Shad S. Scalvini 1/10/2018  
I previously worked for Green Diamond Timber and several consultants as a wildlife technician. I have currently been working as the lead Wildlife Biologist for Mendocino Redwood company (MRC) since 2012 and am in charge of the Northern Spotted owl program. I have also started a mutual program with the wildlife 311 techniques class where they hold their field trip on MRC property at Rockport Beach. We have conducted small mammal trapping, songbird, bat, & small owl mist-netting, track-plates, telemetry, herpetology surveys, etc. The last one that was held this fall we saw an otter family, peregrine falcons, Barred owls, numerous songbirds, & 6 bat species amongst many other wildlife species.
List has 502 notes on 26 pages << < 1 2 3 4 5 > >>

Humboldt State University
Alumni & Engagement

Nelson Hall East 112,
1 Harpst St Arcata, CA 95521
Phone: 707.826.3132
forever@humboldt.edu

Find Us Across the Web:

facebook  youTube  twitter  Humboldt Alumni on LinkedIn

 

Copyright 2012