Search Class Notes
Use the options below to narrow your results.
 
List has 502 notes on 26 pages << < 1 2 3 4 5 > >>
Class Notes Jesus P. Cisneros 8/9/2018  
After finishing the credential program with a Secondary Education credential I was offered as Spanish Immersion teacher position at Dow's Prairie Elementary in McKinleyville, CA. I will be starting my first year as a teacher this upcoming 2018 school year. Thank you for you support !
Class Notes Ronald G. Davis 8/7/2018  
Focusing on Cuban Endemic Birds for a paper movie scroll,
based on the book "Why Birds Matter" 2016.
Class Notes David Feliz 7/6/2018  
Dave Feliz, Wildlife, 1983, is the Reserve Manager for the Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve in Monterey County, California. This is one of 30 Reserves around the nation, set up to conduct research, habitat restoration and education on lands adjacent to and including estuarine habitats. These are all state/federal partnerships with the National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) partnering with state entities. The state partner at the Elkhorn Slough is the California Department of Fish and Wildlife. Dave has been working for the Department since 1984, managing lands in various parts of California.
Class Notes Margot A. Jarvis-Genger 8/11/2018  
In March of 2018, I published
Shift Happens - Breakdowns During Life's Long Hauls.

Out of desperation to escape the confines of her small Northern California town, Genger breaks every rule of her 1970s social class, gender, and upbringing to become a long-haul truck driver. Shift Happens will make you laugh, cringe, and celebrate as Margot navigates the underground life of long-haul truck driving with 11 different driving partners. She criss-crosses the U.S. delivering everything from Hustler Magazines to Washington State apples - sees both the beauty and the meanness that is America - and eventually realizes what she values in 'home'.
- Susan Bennett, PhD, English Professor Emeritus
Class Notes Raymond D. Olson 7/17/2018  
Ray Olson, Natural Resources, 1986, was appointed to a three-year term on the Arcata Wetlands and Creeks Committee by the Arcata City Council.
Class Notes Aaron H. Pudlicki 8/15/2018  
Within 3 months of graduation have obtained full time job as a forester living in Portland, OR and managing timberland throughout western Oregon.
Class Notes Christopher A. Sommers 7/23/2018  
Bay Area stormwater management and monitoring
Class Notes Tamara Su'eSu'e 8/7/2018  
After graduating from HSU in 2001, I went on to get my MA in Sociological Practice at CSU San Marcos and another MA in Educational Counseling from Azusa. I was a High School counselor for 10 years before having my first child, my son Tomasi who is 1 years old now. I am married and I currently live in Prescott Valley, AZ where I am a full time mommy and work in logistics, in my family business.
Class Notes Charlene M. Varney 7/7/2018  
Charlene Varney, Social Work, 1993, worked for various California State agencies, county agencies, non-profits, and tribal governments in various social services programs in support of families, disabled adults, and frail elderly. She currently lives and works in Sacramento, CA, with her eldest granddaughter.
Class Notes Beverly F. Wasson 8/31/2018  
Beverly Ferne Wasson, Physical Education, 1969, Teaching Credential, 1970, taught high school PE in the Mt. Diablo School Dist. from 1970-1980. She started the first co-ed PE classes. From 1980-2011 I grew wine grapes on my family's vineyards. She was the first woman to head the county farm bureau and was on the North Coast Regional Water Quality Board 1999-2006. She retired and lives in the family home in Alexander Valley, Sonoma County, CA.
Class Notes Sanford R. Wilbur 7/7/2018  
Sanford "Sandy" Wilbur, Wildlife, 1963, has just published his latest book, "Semi-Rough: A North Country Journal," about living off the grid in far northern New Hampshire. It has several wildlife, weather, environment, and people stories from the North Country. It's available as a free pdf if you write to him at symbios@condortales.com.
Class Notes Colin G. Gallagher 5/31/2018  
Went into the U.S. Peace Corps after Humboldt graduation of 1997. Came back to the U.S.A. in 2000. Worked various local government gigs, picked up a master's degree along the way. Got into crypto and helped design cryptocurrencies and electronic wallets in a manner so as to foster efficient microdonations in the early years of decentralized cryptos (2009 - 2015). Did a software QA gig. Currently working for a crypto-fiat exchange. Enjoying life.

Class Notes Gerald R. Jones 6/5/2018  
Working for ODFW for 14 years as a fish pathologist/fish health specialist.
Class Notes Dora Mitchell 5/2/2018  
Dora Mitchell, Art, 2008, has a debut novel, an illustrated children's mystery titled "The Haunted Serpent," which is being published in hardcover by Sterling Children's Books on June 5, 2018. Kirkus Reviews said "Fans of Dan Poblocki, John Bellairs, and R.L. Stine will all be right at home and smiling at the shivers (and the jokes)." Booklist said, "Mitchell's well-developed kid characters and excellent caricatures (both written and visual) of the evil adult despots make this paranormal read engaging and goosebump-inducing," and School Library Journal called it "a spooky, high-interest adventure for reluctant readers and fans of action-packed tales."
Class Notes James M. Pena 5/9/2018  
Jim Peña, Forest Resource Management, 1980, is currently serving as Regional Forester of the Pacific Northwest Region of the Forest Service. He will be retiring in July with forty years of service. He has had the privilege of serving at all levels of the agency.
Class Notes Jeffrey A. Rich 6/4/2018  
My newest book is now out, Bald Eagles in The Wild. I also speak and will be offering my book signings, speaking about the book, with slide show, with a book signing starting in the fall. http://www.jeffrichphoto.com
Class Notes Ronald L. Anderson 5/1/2018  
Working at the US Naval Observatory working with Earth Orientation and Orbital Scientists. This is a great location for students hoping for Intern Experience or possible career move.
Class Notes Holly R. McLaughlin 4/22/2018  
Holly McLaughlin, Liberal Studies Elementary Education, 2017, teaches fifth grade at Washington Elementary school.
Class Notes Mildred J. Correa-Hernandez 3/28/2017  
Mildred (Milly) J. Correa, 2017 Art, has begun a full-time graphic design job doing what she loves for an amazing non-profit, the Armory Center for the Arts, in Pasadena, Calif. Correa writes, "Thanks to my family, friends, and mentors who all encouraged me to pursue my goals to do what I love as a career. Contributing to my community while being able to do what I love is vital, which led me to take the Graduation Pledge. This is just the first step in my post-graduation life but I really look forward to it."
Class Notes Mildred J. Correa-Hernandez 6/6/2017  
Mildred J. Correa, 2017 Art, had been offered and accepted an incredible full-time career opportunity at a non-profit in her hometown, Armory Center for the Arts, Pasadena, Calif. Correa's prior positions during her time at HSU including at the Academic and Career Advising Center, the Library, the Learning Center, and Student Access Gallery guided her to realize that she value working for organizations that positively impact community through design. Correa is happily employed at the Armory where everyday she is spreading awareness about this education and gallery space.
List has 502 notes on 26 pages << < 1 2 3 4 5 > >>

Humboldt State University
Alumni & Engagement

Nelson Hall East 112,
1 Harpst St Arcata, CA 95521
Phone: 707.826.3132
forever@humboldt.edu

Find Us Across the Web:

facebook  youTube  twitter  Humboldt Alumni on LinkedIn

 

Copyright 2012